What’s stewing

All right, I know I’m carrying the burgoo metaphor a little too far here, but so what. This is my blog and I’ll write whatever I want, thankyouverymuch. So, here’s what’s been stewing in my brain lately…

  • The habit of self-discipline, it is getting easier. Hubs and I are continuing to limit our screen time. We only get online on weekends or when the kids aren’t around, and although it’s still hard I don’t feel it like a physical craving nearly as much as I did at first. One thing that makes it a lot easier is — holy cow! — I am seeing such great results! It seems so obvious that kids will do better when their house is more organized and their parents are more present… but it’s really nice to see it in action. I mean, they’re even getting more sleep because now we’re shooing ’em off to bed as early as we decently can, just so we can get back online. :-)
  • I started to write a big long post about my daughter’s birth story. I was inspired by the birth of my cousin’s daughter last week. My post was going to be a big old rant against the medical establishment and the ridiculously high rate of unnecessary inducements and c-sections. It’s been a while, but I used to be quite involved with the birthing community, doing some education and outreach to promote evidence-based maternity care (check out Childbirth Connection if that phrase doesn’t ring a bell for you). I went through many drafts and finally decided not to post it. Maybe I will some day, but right now I don’t have the energy. See, childbirth is a very delicate topic. It is hard to rant about (for example) inducements and unnecessary c-sections when your cousin just had one. No mother wants to hear that their baby’s birth could have been better or safer or more wonderful than it already was, even though, for many moms, it’s true. Cousin and baby are both doing fine, by the way.
  • Yesterday Bookworm Girl had an eye doctor appointment which darnitall was at ten o’clock in the morning. That meant we had a very nice hour together while the boys were already at school. We spent about half that time poring over the catalog from ThinkGeek. Can I just say? Neither BG nor I are the type to pore over catalogues. But this one, oh ha ha ha ha! We are sooooo ordering the fuzzy 20-sided dice. Tee hee.
  • A few days ago Bouncy Boy declared that he wants to walk to school all by himself. School is two blocks away in our nice quiet residential neighborhood, and the fifth grade safety patrol is fairly responsible. I pretended to ponder whether or not he is “ready,” but YESSSSS!!! He was so cute about it too. “I’m a little scared,” he said, “but I really want to do it.” So no more me having to get on coat and boots and hike up there twice a day. No more dredging up some semblance of social interaction with the other parents. Now I can just wave bye-bye from the window. Hell, I don’t even have to get dressed!
  • Right now I look like I live in a bramble patch. I’m serious. I am covered with little scratches and scrapes, mostly on my hands, arms, neck and chin. It’s because of our new kitten. He is teething. Did you know cats have baby and grownup teeth too? I now have two of his tiny, razor-sharp little canines (or should I say felines?) which I am saving, at the kids’ request, for the Kitty Tooth Fairy. This little kitten, though, is such a loverboy. The reason I have so many scratches and bite marks on my neck and chin is because of his charming habit of jumping into my lap and standing there with his front paws on my shoulder and headbutting me with his fluffy little forehead against my cheeks. Oh man.
About Daxie

I walk the dog, volunteer on the PTO, read obsessively, work freelance, and try to make sense of this crazy world.
This entry was posted in Daxie's stewpot and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s stewing

  1. sledpress says:

    Well, thank you for bringing ThinkGeek to my attention — uh, I mean — I suspect I will spend some money there. I am probably a sap but I quite like the notion of the heartbeat stress pillow they sell. It has a kind of hypothalamic credibility.

  2. Daxie says:

    Wow. I bet you’re the first person ever to pair the words hypothalamic and credibility. Good one!

    And now I’m trying to choose which giant plush microbes to order. It’s a toughie. Ebola? Flesh Eating Disease? Toxoplasmosis? They’re all so cute!!!

Leave a Reply

