What’s stewing

a yummy bowl of beef stew

I know what you’re thinking: enough already with the stupid burgoo metaphor! Well, here’s what’s stewing in my brain today:

OMG, Avatar was AWESOME!!!

So much in life depends on your expectations. God knows this is true in parenting, and plenty other things as well. Hubs and I finally saw the movie Avatar and I LOVED IT!!! I want to see it again, IN THE THEATER, even at ten bucks a ticket. And I want Artist Boy and Bookworm Girl to see it too so we can talk about it. The thing is, I had absolutely no expectations at all for this movie. I am totally clueless about Hollywood these days. We don’t have TV at our house, I don’t read or listen to entertainment news, and I’ve never even heard of most of the magazine-cover celebs. All I knew about Avatar was that it was a special effects extravaganza. I hadn’t seen a preview, hadn’t heard a plot synopsis, didn’t even know if it was live action or animated. So in addition to the story unfolding for me brand-new, I had the fun of wondering if all the allusions to Aliens were deliberate, and then at the end discovering the movie was directed by James Cameron. Hoo boy, it was good!

So, now that I’ve told you this, you’ll go see it with really high expectations and of course the movie won’t live up to them, and you’ll hate it. Oh well.

Random picks from the library

And I mean random. I love it when Hubs takes the kids to the library. They do their own thing while he cruises the aisles in the youth department and grabs whatever catches his eye. Once he came home with a non-fiction book about the history of the flavors chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry. Kid you not.

I don’t do this. Like I said before, I’m a methodical, linear, left-brain thinker. I stick to the list. When grocery shopping this is a good thing, because I spend way less than Hubby and we actually USE the groceries I bring home. But at the library, random is better.

So right now I’m reading an obscure children’s book called The Blue Cat of Castle Town by Catherine Cate Coblentz and it is delicious! The Amazon listing has it wrong; this is not a book for babies and preschoolers. It reads quite well at an adult level, in fact. I’ll tell you more about it when I finish it. Thanks, Hubs!

Sriracha Sauce

East meets West in Daxie’s kitchen

SOMEone in my family *cough* artistboy *cough* thought it would be perfectly fine to eat up the leftover tamales and salsa while leaving the leftover beans and rice untouched. So it fell upon me to dispose of the beans and rice. The beans and rice were not particularly flavorful on their own, since our local tamale shop naturally expects them to be eaten together with the tamales and salsa. So I added a few squirts of Thai sriracha sauce to the Salvadorean rice and beans. It was pretty tasty, too.

About Daxie

I walk the dog, volunteer on the PTO, read obsessively, work freelance, and try to make sense of this crazy world.
This entry was posted in Daxie's stewpot and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

