New theme: 2010

Well my goodness, it has been a while since I checked in here. I do like this blog, and writing about my life still seems like a good idea The only problem is, life gets in the way of writing about it! I suppose it’s better to be living it than writing about it, but shouldn’t I be able to manage both?

Anyway, to celebrate my return and get me all excited about blogging again, I switched themes. This one is 2010. It’s wordpress.com’s new default theme, and it’s a good one. Tidy, clean, accessible. I only have a couple of complaints (so far), and one feature request:

  • I don’t want to see the “About Daxie” blurb staring me in the face at the bottom of every post. That feature only makes sense for a blog with multiple authors. We should be able to turn that off.
  • If you don’t want to show gravatars in the comments, the comments should be flush left, not indented. I would rather not show gravatars, but I am because the comments look dorky without them.
  • Feature request: how about offering more page templates besides single column? Why not an archive page? Or a contact page with a form à la Blixt?

Because it’s the new default theme, I’m sure we’ll be seeing it everywhere. I’ll get sick of it soon, no doubt, and switch to something else. But I’m happy with it for now, and looking forward to getting back into regular blogging.

About Daxie

I walk the dog, volunteer on the PTO, read obsessively, work freelance, and try to make sense of this crazy world.
This entry was posted in Daxie's stewpot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

